Skip navigation

Just thought I’d pass along my LinkedIn profile to you all here. Please feel free to add me!

Goal: Build my network and achieve a minimum of 100 contacts by the end of June. At the time of writing this, I have 41 contacts, but that’s soon to increase hopefully because I requested to add a ton of colleagues I met at Champ Camp.

If you’re a client that commonly uses LinkedIn, good for you. I really feel you should try to make this part of your recruitment strategy when fit. It isn’t geared for everyone, such as those trying to recruit blue collar positions, and yes, in healthcare on the clinical side it isn’t going to be as effective (but the LinkedIn folks tell me they’re working on that.)

However, LinkedIn has some great products that could potentially work well for you (clients.) I commonly refer to the Yahoo! user study from September 2007 in which it surveyed its registered users about what type of candidate they were, either active, passive, non-seeker, or recent job switchers. The results reported 17% active, 48% passive, 26% non-seekers, and 9% recent job switchers.

If you’re allocating 100% (or close to) of your budget to targeting that 17%, you’re missing the bus.

Products such as LinkedIn are designed to reach that additional 48% you’re not touching. Same goes with radio, outdoor, ROP print, network advertising, etc. – basically any form of “mainstream” media.

I’d love to have discussions with you about LinkedIn and social networking in general, so let’s get to work!

Leave a Reply

